1977-78 Cheshire League Table
Seasons Archive 1970-1980 24 of 30

24. 1977-78 Cheshire League Table

PositionTeamPlayedWonDrawnLostGoals ForGoals AgainstGoal DifferencePoints
2Stalybridge Celtic422312775472858
3WITTON ALBION422114798544456
4Hyde United422113868373155
5Winsford United422471180512955
6Ashton United422013988563253
7Horwich RMI421914962501252
8Leek Town4220101262451750
11Middlewich Athletic421515126766145
12St Helens Town421515125355-245
16Nantwich Town42913205669-1331
18New Brighton421010223569-3430
19New Mills4299244272-3027
20Rossendale United421142751110-5926
21Prestwich Heys4269274288-4621
22Radcliffe Borough4276294694-4820

It was decided to extend the Cheshire County League to two divisions. With the exception of Prestwich Heys, who were placed in Division Two, the existing members were to form Division 1, with new club Fleetwood Town taking the vacant place in the top flight.

The other clubs forming the new Division 2 were Accrington Stanley, Anson Villa, Ashton Town, Atherton Collieries, Bootle, Congleton Town, Curzon Ashton, Eastwood Hanley, Ford Motors, Glossop, Irlam Town, Kirkby Town, Maghull, Prescot BI, Prescot Town, Skelmersdale United and Warrington Town.